Board Members

Board of TRUSTEES: 2013-2014

Kay Perkins, Chairman
Alfred Sikes, Vice Chairman
Carolyn Williams, Secretary
Dirck Bartlett, Treasurer
Nancy Appleby
Richard Bodorff
Thomas Collier, MD
Warren Cox
Joyce Doehler
Elinor Farquhar
Anna Fichtner
Katherine Gilson
Amy Haines
Rodanthe Hanrahan
Simma Liebman
Kathleen Linehan
Robert Lonergan
Doris Fischer Malesardi
Lisa Morgan
Susan Phillips
Patricia Saul
Joseph Schulman, MD
Richard Scobey
Tom D. Seip
J.T. Smith
Judith Stansbury
Deborah Willse
Vickie Wilson
Bruce Wiltsie
Timothy Wyman

Honorary/Emeriti Trustees

Bette Kenzie
Joan W. Cox
Richard Granville
Arnold Lehman
Paul W. Makosky
Earl “Rusty” Powell
Arthur L.S. Waxter
Paul C. Wilson


The Frederick Douglass Honor Society and the Academy Art Museum cordially invite you to join our fourth annual Juneteenth celebration, which takes place on Saturday, June 21, 2014. Juneteeth commemorates the ending of slavery in the United States, and communities across the country celebrate by focusing on freedom, education, and achievement. In 2011, our Juneteenth weekend culminated with the dedication of the Frederick Douglass statue on Talbot County’s courthouse lawn. The following year, we honored the remarkable achievements of World War II’s Tuskegee Airmen. Last year, we celebrated the archeological finds of the Hill Project, highlighting the early local African American community heritage, and heroic forbearers like Buffalo Soldier William Gardner.

This year, Juneteenth promises to be equally exciting as we explore how faith and music go hand-in-hand. In the fields, slaves would sing as they worked, laying the foundation for the gospel music we all enjoy today. Local schools, college and community gospel choirs have all signed on to participate. In addition, Terron Quailes, who graduated from Easton High School and now attends Salisbury University, will sing at Friday’s opening reception.

At the same time, the Museum will host an exhibition by renowned children’s book illustrator Bryan Collier. Originally from Pocomoke on the lower Eastern Shore, Mr. Collier has won numerous awards for his work, including the prestigious Caldecott Honor Medal for Martin’s Big Words: the Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. As part of our Juneteenth celebration, Mr. Collier will offer a book reading and will sign his works. Weather permitting, we will once again brighten the Museum’s picket fence with school children’s artwork. Inside the Museum, we’ll offer another fun family project—this year creating colorful silhouette art.

As a ”doer” and a person of purpose, I am pleased to be part of such an important project here at the Academy Art Museum. Our committee has been hard at work to make the Museum a warm and welcoming place for everyone throughout our region. Our goal is to throw open the doors and invite the whole community—including people of color who might never have been inside before. Juneteeth gives us the opportunity to emphasize that art and culture--just like freedom, education, and achievement—belong to everyone! I hope you’ll be part of it.

Trustee Vickie Wilson, a school counselor at Easton High School’s Guidance Department, chairs this year’s Juneteenth committee along with Harriet Lowery of the Frederick Douglass Honor Society.


site design by divingdog multimedia, inc